New Delhi: For people that sync their photos and videos to the internet from their computer, Google has made an important change. Google Drive for desktop will no longer automatically upload photos and videos to Google Photos starting August 10, 2026. Photos and videos won’t be automatically uploaded to Google Photos for users of Google Drive for desktop starting August 10, 2026.
The transformation is not to signify the end of the Google Drive or users will lose their current files and photographs. The transformation is not a reason for the closing of the Google Drive and that the user will not lose their files and photos. Rather, Google is closing a particular feature that enabled customers to choose folders on their PC and immediately start transfering their photographs and video messages onto Google Photos by means of Google Drive for desktop.
What is changing?
Up to now, users would be able to copy and paste images and video files stored on certain folders on their computers to Google Photos with Google Drive for desktop. This will not be available on the 10 August. Users, however, are allowed to put things in Google Drive as they always do. Member pictures and videos already stored in Google Photos will also be available on the member’s accounts.
Google is urging others to use the Google Photos Desktop backup service to manually backup photos and videos from their computers.
What should users do?
Those who are currently using Google Drive on their desktops for photo backup should review their settings. They can choose folders on their local computer using Google Photos’ website or its desktop backup features.
After choosing the folders, Google Photos will automatically upload more photos and videos. Users should also keep an eye on space in their Google account. Google Photos, Gmail and Google Drive all going to use the similar storage space. An account that accidentally fills up with photos and video clips might not going to be backed up.
Will existing photos be deleted?
No. The change won’t remove the photos and videos you currently have in Google Photos. Existing files stored in Google Drive will be secure too.
Starting on August 10, 2026, Google Drive for then desktop will no longer going to automatically back up photos and videos to Google Photos. As a result, customers are not going to required to worry or modify the files they have. If they would like to continue backing up photos automatically, they will just need to change what they do with Google Photos’ backup feature.









